Research Databases

  A-Z Research Databases

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry: Critical information about companies, products, and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO): Full-text database of academic journals and peer-reviewed articles.

Alt HealthWatch: Holistic, alternative approaches to medicine with a focus on complementary and integrated approaches to health care.

Associates Program Source: A general research database.

Biography Reference Source: Comprehensive collection of biographies and biographical narratives. You can also search by occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan and more.

Books24x7 ITPro: Professional and technical books in computer and information sciences.

Britannica Academic: Reference entries, magazine articles and primary sources. Academic research tools such as the World Atlas and the the World Data Analyst (Country statistics and comparisons).

Business Source Premier: Comprehensive collection of scholarly business articles including finance, management, and marketing.

Chronicle of Higher Education: Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. Access anywhere after creating an account with a WCC-issued email address (and select WCC from the list of institutions).

CINAHL (Nursing & Allied Health Literature): Nursing and Allied Health journals. Also uses MeSH.

Computer Source: Covers topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Technical and consumer journals.

Consumer Health Complete: Portal site focused on fostering an overall understanding of health-related topics. A-Z searching by disease/condition/procedure. Hot topics, and magazine browsing in popular sources. Includes info on alternative medicine.

Consumer Health Database: This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry

Credo Reference: Background information to explore your topic: subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, videos and much more.

CultureGrams: Explore cultures from around the world, through summaries, interviews, videos, slideshows, photos, maps, recipes, graphs, tables. Access National Geographic maps.

EBSCO Audiobooks: Listen to books right in your browser.

EBSCO eBooks: Keyword searchable full-text scholarly and popular eBooks.

eLibrary: A browsable collection of multidisciplinary content. Editorially created pages provide valuable context for both common and more unusual topics of research.

Family Studies Abstracts: Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other ares of key relevance to the discipline.

Film & Television Literature Index: Bibliographic database provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications related to film and television studies.

Films on Demand: Over 6000 streaming videos from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, NBC News, ABC News, PBS, BBC, Meridian, and others.

Fuente Académica: Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia: General encyclopedia and biographical articles. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.

General Science Full-Text: Covers a variety of scientific subjects, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environment, genetics, physics, and zoology. Also include graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations.

Health Source (Academic/Nursing): Journals focusing on medical disciplines such as nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.

Health Source (Consumer): Rich collection of consumer health information including food sciences, nutrition, childcare and sports medicine.

History Reference Source: Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Center is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.

History Study Center: A curated collection of journals and popular magazines covering a range of global historical topics and themes. Includes current and archival secondary sources for vital content and varied perspectives on thousands of topics from world history.

Hospitality & Tourism Index: Covers research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Includes MarketLine Industry Reports.

Humanities Abstracts: Bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.

JSTOR: Search journals, books, images and primary sources.

JSTOR: Images: Image resource from museums & archives. Art, architecture, photography and artists.

Legal Collection: Scholarly law journals and case studies. Topics include criminal justice, ethics, federal law, international law, labor and human resource law, medical law, organized crime and the environment.

Legal Information Source: Easy access to reliable legal information including books from Nolo “the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses”.

MAS (Magazines, Articles, Summaries) Ultra: Popular magazines, reference books and primary sources covering many subjects, including history, science and health.

MasterFILE Premier: Large collection of popular full-text magazines and reference books in subject areas such as business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY and fashion.

MedicLatina: Peer-reviewed medical journals in the Spanish language.

Middle Search Plus: Popular middle school magazines and reference books including the Encyclopedia of Animals, Sports Illustrated Kids, Scholastic News, National Geographic and dozens more.

Military & Government Collection: Offers current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.

MLA International Bibliography: An index of books, articles and websites covering modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. From the Modern Language Association.

Naxos Music Library: Streaming audio recordings, composer bios, music notes. Focus on classical, jazz, and world music.

New York Times: All the news that fit to print! Create an account on campus at this link using your Whatcom email address. Login from any device or app.

News for You: News articles for ESOL students. Enter passcode A9E170 for full content.

Newspaper Source: Regional, national and international newspapers. Also includes television and news transcripts.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context): Pro/Con articles on a variety of issues; includes statistics, and supporting reference and periodical sources.

OVID Nursing: Contains full-text nursing journal titles. From Wolters Kluwer.

Points of View Reference Source: Resources on multiple sides of an issue, for persuasive essays and analytical skills.

Primary Search: Elementary School magazines and articles with Lexile score.

Professional Development Collection: Specialized for educators and education researchers

ProQuest Learning: Literature: Editorially created topic pages and full-text journals and periodicals provide authoritative criticism and reference content.

ProQuest Research Library: Multi-disciplinary subject coverage from scholarly, trade, and consumer publications.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection: Scholarly resources that are particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.

PTSDpubs: Citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

Public Affairs Index: Bibliographic database covering all aspects of national and global public policy issues, including public health, the environment, housing, civil rights and international commerce.

Queer Pasts: Queer Pasts is a collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, to embrace topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender.

Reader’s Guide Mega: A broad selection of periodicals covering many subjects, including art, business, education and entertainment.

Regional Business News Plus: Comprehensive coverage of regional business publications.

Religions & Philosophy Collection: Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Salem Press: Complete eBooks in Health Science, Literature, Applied Science, Earth Science, Physical Sciences and Commerce.

Science Reference Source: Covers a wide range of science topics including science encyclopedias and more.

SIRS Discoverer: An interdisciplinary topical research tool.

Small Business Source: Comprehensive database for small business owners. Search topics and business types.

SOC (Sociology) Index: Bibliographic database for sociology research.

Social Work Reference Center: A turnkey information resource for social work and mental health information. It covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work and diversity.

SPIE Digital Library: Resources from the Society for Optics and Photonics Technology including journals, ebooks and conference proceedings. Access via VMware.

Swank Digital Streaming: A set of streaming films.

TOPICsearch: Explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics.

Urban Studies Abstract: Covers urban affairs, community development, urban history.

US Newsstream: Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as newspaper archives, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and blogs. National and regional sources.

Vocational & Career Collection: Trade and industry-related periodicals.

• EBSCO
• ProQuest
• Other

EBSCO

• Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
  Full-text database of academic journals and peer-reviewed articles.

• Alt HealthWatch
  Holistic, alternative approaches to medicine with a focus on complementary and integrated approaches to health care.

• Associates Program Source
  A general research database.

• Biography Reference Source
  Comprehensive collection of biographies and biographical narratives. You can also search by occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan and more.

• Business Source Premier
  Comprehensive collection of scholarly business articles including finance, management, and marketing.

• CINAHL (Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
  Nursing and Allied Health journals. Also uses MeSH.

• Computer Source
  Covers topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Technical and consumer journals.

• Consumer Health Complete
  Portal site focused on fostering an overall understanding of health-related topics. A-Z searching by disease/condition/procedure. Hot topics, and magazine browsing in popular sources. Includes info on alternative medicine.

• EBSCO Audiobooks
  Listen to books right in your browser.

• EBSCO eBooks
  Keyword searchable full-text scholarly and popular eBooks.

• Family Studies Abstracts
  Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other ares of key relevance to the discipline.

• Film & Television Literature Index
  Bibliographic database provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications related to film and television studies.

• Fuente Académica
  Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals.

• Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
  General encyclopedia and biographical articles. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.

• General Science Full-Text
  Covers a variety of scientific subjects, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environment, genetics, physics, and zoology. Also include graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations.

• Health Source (Academic/Nursing)
  Journals focusing on medical disciplines such as nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.

• Health Source (Consumer)
  Rich collection of consumer health information including food sciences, nutrition, childcare and sports medicine.

• History Reference Source
  Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Center is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.

• Humanities Abstracts
  Bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.

• Legal Collection
  Scholarly law journals and case studies. Topics include criminal justice, ethics, federal law, international law, labor and human resource law, medical law, organized crime and the environment.

• Legal Information Source
  Easy access to reliable legal information including books from Nolo “the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses”.

• MAS (Magazines, Articles, Summaries) Ultra
  Popular magazines, reference books and primary sources covering many subjects, including history, science and health.

• MasterFILE Premier
  Large collection of popular full-text magazines and reference books in subject areas such as business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY and fashion.

• MedicLatina
  Peer-reviewed medical journals in the Spanish language.

• Middle Search Plus
  Popular middle school magazines and reference books including the Encyclopedia of Animals, Sports Illustrated Kids, Scholastic News, National Geographic and dozens more.

• Military & Government Collection
  Offers current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.

• MLA International Bibliography
  An index of books, articles and websites covering modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. From the Modern Language Association.

• Newspaper Source
  Regional, national and international newspapers. Also includes television and news transcripts.

• Points of View Reference Source
  Resources on multiple sides of an issue, for persuasive essays and analytical skills.

• Primary Search
  Elementary School magazines and articles with Lexile score.

• Professional Development Collection
  Specialized for educators and education researchers

• Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
  Scholarly resources that are particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.

• Public Affairs Index
  Bibliographic database covering all aspects of national and global public policy issues, including public health, the environment, housing, civil rights and international commerce.

• Reader’s Guide Mega
  A broad selection of periodicals covering many subjects, including art, business, education and entertainment.

• Regional Business News Plus
  Comprehensive coverage of regional business publications.

• Religions & Philosophy Collection
  Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

• Science Reference Source
  Covers a wide range of science topics including science encyclopedias and more.

• Small Business Source
  Comprehensive database for small business owners. Search topics and business types.

• SOC (Sociology) Index
  Bibliographic database for sociology research.

• Social Work Reference Center
  A turnkey information resource for social work and mental health information. It covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work and diversity.

• TOPICsearch
  Explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics.

• Vocational & Career Collection
  Trade and industry-related periodicals.

ProQuest

• ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
  Critical information about companies, products, and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments.

• Consumer Health Database
  This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry

• CultureGrams
  Explore cultures from around the world, through summaries, interviews, videos, slideshows, photos, maps, recipes, graphs, tables. Access National Geographic maps.

• eLibrary
  A browsable collection of multidisciplinary content. Editorially created pages provide valuable context for both common and more unusual topics of research.

• History Study Center
  A curated collection of journals and popular magazines covering a range of global historical topics and themes. Includes current and archival secondary sources for vital content and varied perspectives on thousands of topics from world history.

• ProQuest Research Library
  Multi-disciplinary subject coverage from scholarly, trade, and consumer publications.

• PTSDpubs
  Citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

• SIRS Discoverer
  An interdisciplinary topical research tool.

• US Newsstream
  Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as newspaper archives, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and blogs. National and regional sources.

Other

• Books24x7 ITPro
  Professional and technical books in computer and information sciences.

• Britannica Academic
  Reference entries, magazine articles and primary sources. Academic research tools such as the World Atlas and the the World Data Analyst (Country statistics and comparisons).

• Chronicle of Higher Education
  Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. Access anywhere after creating an account with a WCC-issued email address (and select WCC from the list of institutions).

• Credo Reference
  Background information to explore your topic: subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, videos and much more.

• JSTOR: Images
  Image resource from museums & archives. Art, architecture, photography and artists.

• Naxos Music Library
  Streaming audio recordings, composer bios, music notes. Focus on classical, jazz, and world music.

• New York Times
  All the news that fit to print! Create an account on campus at this link using your Whatcom email address. Login from any device or app.

• Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
  Pro/Con articles on a variety of issues; includes statistics, and supporting reference and periodical sources.

• OVID Nursing
  Contains full-text nursing journal titles. From Wolters Kluwer.

• Queer Pasts
  Queer Pasts is a collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, to embrace topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender.

• Salem Press
  Complete eBooks in Health Science, Literature, Applied Science, Earth Science, Physical Sciences and Commerce.

• Swank Digital Streaming
  A set of streaming films.

Journals By Title

Great for reverse citation lookup!

Tips for better searches

ISSN stands for International Standard Serial Number. ISSNs are unique identifies for journals and can help you find just the right journal. 

Interlibrary Loan

If the Journal or Article that you require is not available through our research databases, then you may be able to access the item through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Interlibrary Loan is a system of borrowing and lending books, articles, and media between libraries. If there is a desired resource that local libraries neither have nor have a suitable substitute for, then we will try to borrow it from another library.

Is there a cost for ILL?

Usually there is no charge for most item such as books and journal articles. If there is an additional cost for a particular request, we will contact you prior to any charges being applied.

Research guides are librarian-curated pathways to information, databases and other resources for your course. Use one of the following research guides to help you find scholarly information for your assignment.

What is a Citation?

A citation is like a street address that helps others identify and locate the material in your writing that comes from another source.

Why is citing your sources important?

Giving credit to others is a key aspect to completing your required course work and the only way to use the work of others without plagiarizing. The two citation styles most used at Whatcom Community College are:

You can find style manuals (for all citation styles used at Whatcom) and handouts by visiting the Library.

Managing your citations

If you have a lot of sources, sometimes using a tool to help manage your citations can help you stay more organized. We recommend using ZoteroBib (its a free tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources).

tip: Auto-generated citations can sometimes contain errors, double-check the information about your source while you are still looking at it to ensure accuracy.

Plagiarism. What is it?

Plagiarism is using the words or ideas of another person and presenting them as your own. This can be done unintentionally as well as purposefully and both violate our Student Code of Conduct _{(WAC 132U-125-020)}.

When in doubt, cite your sources!