Research Databases

OneSearch Logo

OneSearch: Find books, eBooks, articles & videos.

Academic Journals/Articles

Academic Search Complete: Multi-disciplinary full text database of academic journals and peer-reviewed articles (via EBSCO).

ProQuest Research Library: Multi-disciplinary subject coverage from scholarly, trade, and consumer publications.

A – Z Journal Search: Find individual journals by title or ISSN.

By SubjectAlphabeticalBy VendorJournals By TitleCiting Sources

Check our Subject Guides if a subject is not listed here. Most include database recommendations.

Books

  • EBSCO eBooks
    Keyword searchable full-text scholarly and popular eBooks.
  • OneSearch
    Find physical items (books, movies) in the library as well as research articles, ebooks and more. Your Library catalog enhanced with offerings from several databases. A good place to start.

Film, Music & Art

  • ARTstor
    Image resource from museums & archives. Art, architecture, photography and artists.
  • Naxos Music Library
    Streaming audio recordings, composer bios, music notes. Focus on classical, jazz, and world music.

General Reference Works

  • Britannica Academic
    Reference entries, magazine articles and primary sources. Academic research tools such as the World Atlas and the the World Data Analyst (Country statistics and comparisons).
  • Credo Reference
    Background information to explore your topic: subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, videos and much more.

Business

  • Business Source Premier
    Comprehensive collection of scholarly business articles including finance, management, and marketing.

Healthcare & Medicine

  • Alt Healthwatch
    Holistic, alternative approaches to medicine with a focus on complementary and integrated approaches to health care.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    Portal site focused on fostering an overall understanding of health-related topics. A-Z searching by disease/condition/procedure. Hot topics, and magazine browsing in popular sources. Includes info on alternative medicine.
  • Consumer Health Database
    Detailed scientific studies and popular consumer information on specific aspects of health topics such as sports injuries, women’s health, nutrition, eye care, dentistry, and more.
  • Health Source (Academic/Nursing)
    Journals focusing on medical disciplines such as nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
  • Health Source (Consumer)
    Rich collection of consumer health information including food sciences, nutrition, childcare and sports medicine.
  • OVID Nursing
    Contains full-text nursing journal titles. From Wolters Kluwer.
  • Salem “Health”
    Full Text encyclopedias: Addictions & Substance Abuse; Cancer; Complementary & Alternative Medicine; Genetics & Inherited Conditions; Infectious Diseases & Conditions; Psychology & Mental Health. Salem Press
  • Social Work Reference Center
    A turnkey information resource for social work and mental health information. It covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work and diversity.

Social Sciences

  • Legal Collection
    Scholarly law journals and case studies. Topics include criminal justice, ethics, federal law, international law, labor and human resource law, medical law, organized crime and the environment.
  • Legal Information Reference Center
    Easy access to reliable legal information including books from Nolo "the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses".
  • ProQuest “Social Sciences”
    This resource includes publications on social science information. Topics covered include Sociology, Psychology, Communications, Political Science, Linguistics, Criminology, and Education.
  • Religions & Philosophy Collection
    Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
  • World History (Gale in Context)
    Provides scholarly material, maps and topic pages that cover the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people.

Discover by Topics

  • Biography Reference Center
    Comprehensive collection of biographies and biographical narratives. You can also search by occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan and more.
  • CultureGrams
    Explore cultures from around the world, through summaries, interviews, videos, slideshows, photos, maps, recipes, graphs, tables. Access National Geographic maps.
  • eLibrary
    A browsable collection of multidisciplinary content. Editorially created pages provide valuable context for both common and more unusual topics of research.
  • Hot Topics (from Newsbank)
    Current research topics covering key global issues, and people about business, economics, crime, politics, science, health, sports, the arts and more. Funded by the Washington State Library, with federal LSTA funds made available through 12/31/2020.
  • Special Reports (from Newsbank)
    NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. New information is added daily to featured and current reports. Funded by the Washington State Library, with federal LSTA funds through 12/31/20.

News & Current Events

  • Access World News
    Local (Bellingham Herald, Seattle Times) to international newspapers and magazines. This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Ends 12/31/2020.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education
    Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. Access anywhere after creating an account with a WCC-issued email address (and select WCC from the list of institutions).
  • New York Times
    All the news that fit to print! Create an account on campus at http://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/ using your Whatcom email address. Login from any device or app..
  • News For You
    A weekly publication for adult learners that uses current events and human interest stories to engage learners’ interest while building skills in reading, comprehension, vocabulary, and more.” Use A9E170 for “Sign In” (mid-screen, next to News for You)
  • Newspaper Source
    Regional, national and international newspapers. Also includes television and news transcripts.
  • US Newsstream
    Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as newspaper archives, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and blogs. National and regional sources.

STEM

  • Computer Source
    Covers topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Technical and consumer journals.
  • General Science Full-Text
    Covers a variety of scientific subjects, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environment, genetics, physics, and zoology. Also include graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations.
  • IT Pro (Books24x7)
    Professional and technical books in computer and information sciences. Streaming videos also available (Adobe Flash required) via Skillsoft Books (Books24x7).
  • Salem: Science
    Full text scholarly encyclopedias. Titles available in Applied Science, Earth Science, Energy, and Math. Salem Press

Literature

  • Literature (Gale)
    Literary criticism. Includes biographies of authors, composers, and artists.
  • MLA “International Bibliography”
    An index of books, articles and websites covering modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Abstract-only: useful for vetting ILL possibilities. From the Modern Language Association.
  • ProQuest “Literature & Language”
    This resource includes publications on literature and language covering topics such as English, American Literature, World Literatures, and Linguistics.

 Research Databases

Printable List

Base Links

  • Academic Search Complete
    Multi-disciplinary full text database of academic journals and peer-reviewed articles (via EBSCO).
  • Access World News
    Local (Bellingham Herald, Seattle Times) to international newspapers and magazines. This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Ends 12/31/2020.
  • AHFS Consumer Medication
    A recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Includes more than a thousand drug information books written for consumers. Updated monthly. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
  • Alt Healthwatch
    Holistic, alternative approaches to medicine with a focus on complementary and integrated approaches to health care.
  • ARTstor
    Image resource from museums & archives. Art, architecture, photography and artists.
  • Biography Reference Center
    Comprehensive collection of biographies and biographical narratives. You can also search by occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan and more.
  • Britannica Academic
    Reference entries, magazine articles and primary sources. Academic research tools such as the World Atlas and the the World Data Analyst (Country statistics and comparisons).
  • Business Source Premier
    Comprehensive collection of scholarly business articles including finance, management, and marketing.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education
    Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. Access anywhere after creating an account with a WCC-issued email address (and select WCC from the list of institutions).
  • Computer Source
    Covers topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Technical and consumer journals.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    Portal site focused on fostering an overall understanding of health-related topics. A-Z searching by disease/condition/procedure. Hot topics, and magazine browsing in popular sources. Includes info on alternative medicine.
  • Consumer Health Database
    Detailed scientific studies and popular consumer information on specific aspects of health topics such as sports injuries, women’s health, nutrition, eye care, dentistry, and more.
  • Credo Reference
    Background information to explore your topic: subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, videos and much more.
  • CultureGrams
    Explore cultures from around the world, through summaries, interviews, videos, slideshows, photos, maps, recipes, graphs, tables. Access National Geographic maps.
  • EBSCO eBooks
    Keyword searchable full-text scholarly and popular eBooks.
  • eLibrary
    A browsable collection of multidisciplinary content. Editorially created pages provide valuable context for both common and more unusual topics of research.
  • Family Studies Abstracts
    Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other ares of key relevance to the discipline.
  • FirstSearch (OCLC)
    Search multiple databases including 'ArticlesFirst', 'Proceedings', and 'PapersFirst'.
  • Gale eBooks
    Full Text. 15 reference books across a variety of subjects.
  • General Science Full-Text
    Covers a variety of scientific subjects, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environment, genetics, physics, and zoology. Also include graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations.
  • Greenfile
    Abstracts of environmental literature.
  • Health Source (Academic/Nursing)
    Journals focusing on medical disciplines such as nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
  • Health Source (Consumer)
    Rich collection of consumer health information including food sciences, nutrition, childcare and sports medicine.
  • History Study Center
    A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present.
  • Hot Topics (from Newsbank)
    Current research topics covering key global issues, and people about business, economics, crime, politics, science, health, sports, the arts and more. Funded by the Washington State Library, with federal LSTA funds made available through 12/31/2020.
  • Humanities Abstracts
    Bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
  • IT Pro (Books24x7)
    Professional and technical books in computer and information sciences. Streaming videos also available (Adobe Flash required) via Skillsoft Books (Books24x7).
  • Kanopy
    Limited. Current film: "Sext Up Kids". While on campus (or using VM Ware) login using username: Whatcom password: access. Then create your own account for off-campus viewing.
  • Legal Collection
    Scholarly law journals and case studies. Topics include criminal justice, ethics, federal law, international law, labor and human resource law, medical law, organized crime and the environment.
  • Legal Information Reference Center
    Easy access to reliable legal information including books from Nolo "the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses".
  • Literature (Gale)
    Literary criticism. Includes biographies of authors, composers, and artists.
  • MasterFILE Complete
    Large collection of popular full-text magazines and reference books in subject areas such as business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY and fashion.
  • MedicLatina
    Peer-reviewed medical journals in the Spanish language.
  • Middle Search Plus
    Popular middle school magazines and reference books including the Encyclopedia of Animals, Sports Illustrated Kids, Scholastic News, National Geographic and dozens more.
  • MLA “International Bibliography”
    An index of books, articles and websites covering modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Abstract-only: useful for vetting ILL possibilities. From the Modern Language Association.
  • Naxos Music Library
    Streaming audio recordings, composer bios, music notes. Focus on classical, jazz, and world music.
  • New York Times
    All the news that fit to print! Create an account on campus at http://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/ using your Whatcom email address. Login from any device or app..
  • News For You
    A weekly publication for adult learners that uses current events and human interest stories to engage learners’ interest while building skills in reading, comprehension, vocabulary, and more.” Use A9E170 for “Sign In” (mid-screen, next to News for You)
  • Newspaper Source
    Regional, national and international newspapers. Also includes television and news transcripts.
  • OneSearch
    Find physical items (books, movies) in the library as well as research articles, ebooks and more. Your Library catalog enhanced with offerings from several databases. A good place to start.
  • OVID Nursing
    Contains full-text nursing journal titles. From Wolters Kluwer.
  • Primary Search
    Elementary School magazines and articles with Lexile score.
  • ProQuest “History”
    This resource includes publications on history covering topics such as: Civilizations, Historical studies, Military history, Periods & events, US history, World history.
  • ProQuest “Literature & Language”
    This resource includes publications on literature and language covering topics such as English, American Literature, World Literatures, and Linguistics.
  • ProQuest “Science & Technology”
    This resource includes publications on the latest science and technology information. Topic coverage includes Agriculture, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Materials Science, Computing, and Engineering.
  • ProQuest “Social Sciences”
    This resource includes publications on social science information. Topics covered include Sociology, Psychology, Communications, Political Science, Linguistics, Criminology, and Education.
  • ProQuest “The Arts”
    This resource includes publications on the arts. Topic coverage includes Music, Theatre, Film, TV, Dance, Architecture, Art, and Design.
  • ProQuest Platform
    Menu for choosing one or multiple ProQuest databases to search (excludes the literature, history, eLibrary, & SIRS databases (which have a different interface)).
  • PTSDpubs
    Citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
  • Public Affairs Index
    Bibliographic database covering all aspects of national and global public policy issues, including public health, the environment, housing, civil rights and international commerce.
  • Reader’s Guide Mega
    A broad selection of periodicals covering many subjects, including art, business, education and entertainment.
  • Religions & Philosophy Collection
    Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
  • Salem “Health”
    Full Text encyclopedias: Addictions & Substance Abuse; Cancer; Complementary & Alternative Medicine; Genetics & Inherited Conditions; Infectious Diseases & Conditions; Psychology & Mental Health. Salem Press
  • Salem Press
    Complete eBooks in Health Science, Literature, Applied Science, Earth Science, Physical Sciences and Commerce.
  • Salem: Science
    Full text scholarly encyclopedias. Titles available in Applied Science, Earth Science, Energy, and Math. Salem Press
  • Seattle Times Collection
    Search more than 30 years of Seattle area history, with coverage from 1985 – current. Contains full-color newspaper pages, individual full-text articles, and online-only content. Funded by the Washington State Library & the IMLS through 12/31/2020
  • Social Work Reference Center
    A turnkey information resource for social work and mental health information. It covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work and diversity.
  • Special Reports (from Newsbank)
    NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. New information is added daily to featured and current reports. Funded by the Washington State Library, with federal LSTA funds through 12/31/20.
  • TOPICsearch
    Explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics.
  • US Newsstream
    Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as newspaper archives, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and blogs. National and regional sources.
  • Washington State Newspapers
    Washington State news sources from across the state including: the Chinook Observer, Chronicle, Columbian, Daily Herald, Daily News, Daily Record, Daily World, Kitsap Sun & more. Funded by the Washington State Library & IMLS through 12/31/2020.
  • World History (Gale in Context)
    Provides scholarly material, maps and topic pages that cover the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people.

EBSCO

  • Academic Search Complete
    Multi-disciplinary full text database of academic journals and peer-reviewed articles (via EBSCO).
  • AHFS Consumer Medication
    A recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Includes more than a thousand drug information books written for consumers. Updated monthly. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
  • Biography Reference Center
    Comprehensive collection of biographies and biographical narratives. You can also search by occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan and more.
  • Business Source Premier
    Comprehensive collection of scholarly business articles including finance, management, and marketing.
  • Computer Source
    Covers topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Technical and consumer journals.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    Portal site focused on fostering an overall understanding of health-related topics. A-Z searching by disease/condition/procedure. Hot topics, and magazine browsing in popular sources. Includes info on alternative medicine.
  • EBSCO eBooks
    Keyword searchable full-text scholarly and popular eBooks.
  • Family Studies Abstracts
    Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other ares of key relevance to the discipline.
  • General Science Full-Text
    Covers a variety of scientific subjects, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environment, genetics, physics, and zoology. Also include graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations.
  • Health Source (Academic/Nursing)
    Journals focusing on medical disciplines such as nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
  • Health Source (Consumer)
    Rich collection of consumer health information including food sciences, nutrition, childcare and sports medicine.
  • Humanities Abstracts
    Bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
  • Legal Collection
    Scholarly law journals and case studies. Topics include criminal justice, ethics, federal law, international law, labor and human resource law, medical law, organized crime and the environment.
  • Legal Information Reference Center
    Easy access to reliable legal information including books from Nolo "the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses".
  • MasterFILE Complete
    Large collection of popular full-text magazines and reference books in subject areas such as business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY and fashion.
  • MedicLatina
    Peer-reviewed medical journals in the Spanish language.
  • Middle Search Plus
    Popular middle school magazines and reference books including the Encyclopedia of Animals, Sports Illustrated Kids, Scholastic News, National Geographic and dozens more.
  • MLA “International Bibliography”
    An index of books, articles and websites covering modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Abstract-only: useful for vetting ILL possibilities. From the Modern Language Association.
  • Newspaper Source
    Regional, national and international newspapers. Also includes television and news transcripts.
  • Primary Search
    Elementary School magazines and articles with Lexile score.
  • Public Affairs Index
    Bibliographic database covering all aspects of national and global public policy issues, including public health, the environment, housing, civil rights and international commerce.
  • Reader’s Guide Mega
    A broad selection of periodicals covering many subjects, including art, business, education and entertainment.
  • Religions & Philosophy Collection
    Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
  • Social Work Reference Center
    A turnkey information resource for social work and mental health information. It covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work and diversity.
  • TOPICsearch
    Explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics.

ProQuest

  • Consumer Health Database
    Detailed scientific studies and popular consumer information on specific aspects of health topics such as sports injuries, women’s health, nutrition, eye care, dentistry, and more.
  • CultureGrams
    Explore cultures from around the world, through summaries, interviews, videos, slideshows, photos, maps, recipes, graphs, tables. Access National Geographic maps.
  • eLibrary
    A browsable collection of multidisciplinary content. Editorially created pages provide valuable context for both common and more unusual topics of research.
  • History Study Center
    A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present.
  • ProQuest “History”
    This resource includes publications on history covering topics such as: Civilizations, Historical studies, Military history, Periods & events, US history, World history.
  • ProQuest “Literature & Language”
    This resource includes publications on literature and language covering topics such as English, American Literature, World Literatures, and Linguistics.
  • ProQuest “Science & Technology”
    This resource includes publications on the latest science and technology information. Topic coverage includes Agriculture, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Materials Science, Computing, and Engineering.
  • ProQuest “Social Sciences”
    This resource includes publications on social science information. Topics covered include Sociology, Psychology, Communications, Political Science, Linguistics, Criminology, and Education.
  • ProQuest “The Arts”
    This resource includes publications on the arts. Topic coverage includes Music, Theatre, Film, TV, Dance, Architecture, Art, and Design.
  • ProQuest Platform
    Menu for choosing one or multiple ProQuest databases to search (excludes the literature, history, eLibrary, & SIRS databases (which have a different interface)).

Gale

  • Gale eBooks
    Full Text. 15 reference books across a variety of subjects.
  • Literature (Gale)
    Literary criticism. Includes biographies of authors, composers, and artists.
  • World History (Gale in Context)
    Provides scholarly material, maps and topic pages that cover the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people.

Other

  • ARTstor
    Image resource from museums & archives. Art, architecture, photography and artists.
  • Britannica Academic
    Reference entries, magazine articles and primary sources. Academic research tools such as the World Atlas and the the World Data Analyst (Country statistics and comparisons).
  • Chronicle of Higher Education
    Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. Access anywhere after creating an account with a WCC-issued email address (and select WCC from the list of institutions).
  • Credo Reference
    Background information to explore your topic: subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, videos and much more.
  • FirstSearch (OCLC)
    Search multiple databases including 'ArticlesFirst', 'Proceedings', and 'PapersFirst'.
  • IT Pro (Books24x7)
    Professional and technical books in computer and information sciences. Streaming videos also available (Adobe Flash required) via Skillsoft Books (Books24x7).
  • Kanopy
    Limited. Current film: "Sext Up Kids". While on campus (or using VM Ware) login using username: Whatcom password: access. Then create your own account for off-campus viewing.
  • Naxos Music Library
    Streaming audio recordings, composer bios, music notes. Focus on classical, jazz, and world music.
  • New York Times
    All the news that fit to print! Create an account on campus at http://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/ using your Whatcom email address. Login from any device or app..
  • News For You
    A weekly publication for adult learners that uses current events and human interest stories to engage learners’ interest while building skills in reading, comprehension, vocabulary, and more.” Use A9E170 for “Sign In” (mid-screen, next to News for You)
  • OVID Nursing
    Contains full-text nursing journal titles. From Wolters Kluwer.
  • Salem Press
    Complete eBooks in Health Science, Literature, Applied Science, Earth Science, Physical Sciences and Commerce.

Journals By Title

Great for reverse citation lookup!

A – Z Journal Search: Find individual journals by title or ISSN.

Tips for better searches

ISSN stands for International Standard Serial Number. ISSNs are unique identifies for journals and can help you find just the right journal. 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary LoanIf the Journal or Article that you require is not available through our research databases, then you may be able to access the item through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Interlibrary Loan is a system of borrowing and lending books, articles, and media between libraries. If there is a desired resource that local libraries neither have nor have a suitable substitute for, then we will try to borrow it from another library.

Is there a cost for ILL?

Usually there is no charge for most item such as books and journal articles. If there is an additional cost for a particular request, we will contact you prior to any charges being applied.

What is a Citation?

A citation is like a street address that helps others identify and locate the material in your writing that comes from another source.

Why is citing your sources important?

Giving credit to others is a key aspect to completing your required course work and the only way to use the work of others without plagiarizing. The two citation styles most used at Whatcom Community College are:

MLA Logo
APA Logo

 

You can find style manuals (for all citation styles used at Whatcom) and handouts by visiting the Library.

Managing your citations

xckd "Citation Needed" crop

If you have a lot of sources, sometimes using a tool to help manage your citations can help you stay more organized. We recommend using ZoteroBib (its a free tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources).

ZoteroBib logo

tip: Auto-generated citations can sometimes contain errors, double-check the information about your source while you are still looking at it to ensure accuracy.

Plagiarism. What is it?

Plagiarism is using the words or ideas of another person and presenting them as your own. This can be done unintentionally as well as purposefully and both violate our Student Code of Conduct (WAC 132U-125-020).

When in doubt, cite your sources!