National & Global Newspapers
US Newsstream: Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as newspaper archives, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and blogs. National and regional sources.
New York Times: All the news that fit to print! Create an account on campus at this link using your Whatcom email address. Login from any device or app.
Newspaper Source: Regional, national and international newspapers. Also includes television and news transcripts.
Washington State Newspapers
Use Journal Search to find a specific newspaper by name.
Or use OneSearch to search for an article by name.
- List of local current newspapers
- Washington Digital Newspapers – Contains a range of territorial era newspapers beginning in 1852 and regional community digitization projects through the early 2000s. This is a full text searchable collection of newspapers with new historical WA newspaper titles added each year.
- Chronicling America – With a grant from the National Endowment for Humanities, the Washington State Library is participating in the National Digital Newspaper Program; an effort to digitize early (pre 1923) issues from newspapers around the United States. These issues are full-text searchable and downloadable free.
Printed Newspapers @ The Library
- The Wall Street Journal
- Seattle Times
- Whatcom Watch
Research Current Events or Topics
Biography Reference Source: Comprehensive collection of biographies and biographical narratives. You can also search by occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan and more.
Credo Reference: Background information to explore your topic: subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, videos and much more.
eLibrary: A browsable collection of multidisciplinary content. Editorially created pages provide valuable context for both common and more unusual topics of research.
Films on Demand: Over 6000 streaming videos from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, NBC News, ABC News, PBS, BBC, Meridian, and others.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context): Pro/Con articles on a variety of issues; includes statistics, and supporting reference and periodical sources.
Points of View Reference Source: Resources on multiple sides of an issue, for persuasive essays and analytical skills.
SIRS Discoverer: An interdisciplinary topical research tool.
TOPICsearch: Explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics.
TV News Archive: Index of searchable text and short streamed clips to explore TV news, discover important resources, understand context, and evaluate assertions of fact.